F. Otto Haas Award | Theatre Philadelphia
Home Barrymore Awards F. Otto Haas Award

F. Otto Haas Award

UPDATE: Applications for The F. Otto Haas Award will re-open in Winter 2022. Keep an eye on our social media and website for updates!


The F. Otto Haas Award for an Emerging Philadelphia Theatre Artist is awarded annually to a rising talent in the Greater Philadelphia region and is the only award of its kind in the nation. Generously funded by Carole Haas Gravagno through the CHG Charitable Trust, this special Barrymore Award includes a $15,000 cash prize for the recipient and $2,000 for each finalist. The award is intended to support an artist's living expenses, allowing them to remain committed to the Greater Philadelphia community and further development of their craft.

Contact Us

Have questions? 

CLICK HERE for the information shared about all of the Barrymore Special Awards.


We are seeking your expertise in selecting the candidates for the 2020 F. Otto Haas Award for an Emerging Philadelphia Theatre Artist. Your knowledge, involvement and leadership in our Philadelphia theatre community make your perspective incredibly important in selecting appropriate candidates for this prestigious award. Who, in not only your company, but among all of your fellow artists, has created work that has contributed to the viability and visibility of our theatre community in the past year? 

All contributing theatre artists, without regard to specialty, are eligible, with the designated intent that the Haas Award is given in recognition of both noted artistic excellence and promise. The $15,000 cash award is designed to give younger artists recognition and financial help in their early career development.

The criteria in the selection process are:

  • A theatre professional who has worked no less than three, nor more than ten years in Philadelphia theatre
  • Philadelphia residency is not a requirement, but there must be both a substantial body of work that has been adjudicated here.

The deadline to submit your recommendations (MAX. 2 per person) is April 17, 2020.  Please include:

  • Contact Information: name, address, phone, email
  • Theatre Company (if applicable)
  • Discipline

Email all recommendations to Programs Manager, James Haro (james@theatrephiladelphia.org). We look forward to your endorsements and participation in identifying and celebrating the F. Otto Haas Emerging Artists Award.

Award Recipients

2019 Jaylene Clark Owens
2018 Taysha Canales
2017 Mary Tuomanen
2016 Bi Jean Ngo
2015 Akeem Davis
2014 Liz Filios
2013 Charlotte Ford
2012 Steve Pacek
2011 James Ijames
2010 Sarah Sanford
2009 Charlotte Cloe Fox Wind
2008 Matt Pfeiffer
2007 Matt Saunders
2006 Ben Dibble
2005 James Sugg
2004 Jorge Cousineau
2003 Ian Merrill Peakes
2002 Scott Greer
2001 Catharine Slusar
2000 John Lumia
1999 Jennifer Childs
1998 Robert Christophe
1997 Adam Wernick
1996 Michael Hollinger
1995 Grace Gonglewski