New adaptation and retelling of The Winter’s Tale (Virtual Production) | Theatre Philadelphia
Home Get Involved Jobs New adaptation and retelling of The Winter’s Tale (Virtual Production)

New adaptation and retelling of The Winter’s Tale (Virtual Production)

Post Date: Jan 8, 2021

Retold, adapted, and directed by Katrina Hall 

Andrés Gallardo Bustillo, casting

Seth Reich, artistic dir. 

 

The Phoenix Theatre is seeking non-union actors for their virtual production of Shakespeare’s The Winter’s Tale, retold, adapted, and written by Katrina Hall. Auditions and callbacks will take place via Zoom on Friday, January 15th from 6pm - 10pm EST and Saturday, January 16h, from 10am - 6pm EST.  Performances will be streamed live, NOT pre-recorded, via YouTube on Friday, February 19th at 7pm, Saturday, February 20th at 7pm, and Sunday, February 21st at 1pm.

 

The Phoenix Theatre is committed to inclusive and non-traditional casting. The Phoenix Theatre’s mission is to re-imagine the classics.  To quote an audience member, “This ain’t your mama’s Shakespeare.” We strongly encourage submissions from performers from the BIPOC community and performers of all ages, abilities, gender identities and backgrounds. There is no Shakespeare experience necessary and we want to hear your individual natural dialect in the room.  Please don’t hesitate to inform us of any accommodations you may need prior to the audition and we will make sure to prepare for you.  

 

For more information about The Phoenix Theatre go to: thephoenixtheatrepa.com. The Phoenix Theatre is a non-profit 501(c)3 theatre company based in Chester County, PA.

Job Category

How to Apply

To be considered, please submit a one minute self tape of a monologue, song or poem along with a headshot and resume and desired time frame by Wednesday, January 13th to casting@thephoenixtheatrepa.com.  If asked to audition you will receive an email confirmation with your time frame and detailed instructions. 

 

Everyone auditioning must use a computer or laptop with video capability.

 

Rehearsal Schedule (conflicts submitted prior to audition date will be considered)

All rehearsals and performances are via Zoom.  All times are Eastern Standard Time.  

 

 

Tuesday 2/2/2021 - 6:30-10:00pm

Wednesday 2/3/2021 - 6:30-10:00pm

Thursday 2/4/2021 - 6:30-10:00pm 

Friday 2/5/2021 - 6:30-10:00pm

Saturday 2/6/2021 - 12:00-5:00pm

Sunday 2/7/2021 - 12:00-5:00pm 

Tuesday 2/9/2021 - 6:30-10:00pm

Wednesday 2/10/2021 - 6:30-10:00pm

Thursday 2/11/2021 - 6:30-10:00pm

Friday 2/12/2021 - 6:30-10:00pm

Saturday 2/13/2021 - 12:00-5:00pm

Sunday 2/14/2021 - 12:00-8:00pm

Tuesday 2/16/2021 - 6:00-10:30pm

Wednesday 2/17/2021 - 6:00-10:30pm

Thursday 2/18/2021 - 6:00-10:30pm

SHOWS

Friday 2/19/2021 - 7:00-10:00pm

Saturday 2/20/2021 - 7:00-10:00pm

Sunday 2/21/2021 - 1:00-4:00pm

 

 

Small stipend will be provided.