Become a Barrymore Nominator or Judge | Theatre Philadelphia
Home Get Involved Become a Barrymore Nominator or Judge

Become a Barrymore Nominator or Judge

Are you a theatre person? Do you find yourself thinking about and discussing productions extensively after you've attended them? Would you like to play a role in selecting whose work is recognized in the Greater Philadelphia region?

Apply to become a Barrymore Awards adjudicator!

The Barrymore Awards for Excellence in Theatre are a nationally recognized symbol of excellence for professional theatre in the Greater Philadelphia region, honoring local artists and theatre companies while increasing public awareness of the richness and diversity of our city's thriving theatre community.

About the Selection Process

Each spring, the Barrymore Oversight Committee identifies a pool of 12 Judges and approximately 70 Nominators to adjudicate the upcoming season of Barrymore-eligible productions. This year the annual process will begin March 5th with publication of the Nominator/Judge Application, which is due before midnight on April 8th. Applicants will be notified about the status of their application no later than May 25th. There is a mandatory season orientation on June 25th. The Barrymore Awards season runs July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019.

In previous seasons Barrymore Judges have attended 65-80 productions, as well as five meetings with fellow judges. Nominators have attended approximately 12-15 productions per season, as their schedule allows.

Barrymore Nominators and Judges may serve a maximum of three consecutive seasons, and must reapply and be approved via the selection process conducted annually by the Barrymore Oversight Committee. In order to maximize inclusiveness and ensure fresh perspectives, the Barrymore Oversight Committee seeks to rotate 30% of the existing Nominator/Judge pool each season, through either natural attrition or lottery selection. The Barrymore Oversight Committee is dedicated to creating an annual Nominator/Judge pool of committed and knowledgeable theatre professionals that are reflective and inclusive of our community’s diversity, including artistic discipline, gender, age, and ethnic background.

To aid the Barrymore Oversight Committee with this ongoing effort, we invite qualified applicants from all backgrounds and experiences to apply.

How to apply

Applications for the 2018/19 Season are now open! Please click the following link to complete the online form - Nominator/Judge Application


Feel free to check out this video!: Facebook Live Q&A Session: Become a Barrymore Nominator or Judge

You may also review the Barrymore Awards Rulebook or contact Programs Assistant, James Haro.

Spread the word!

Theatre Philadelphia is actively seeking an array of new participants who will bring varied and unique perspectives to our pool of nominators and judges. If you know someone who would make a great adjudicator, please send them our way!


For the 2017/18 Season of voters, the Barrymore Oversight Committee selected a pool of nominators and judges (below) who are 33% people of color/mixed, 41% LGBTQ+, and 62% who are women, transgender, or gender non-binary. Our goal for the 2018/19 season is to increase the number of applicants and meet or exceed this breakdown for participants.

Barrymore Judges – 2017/18 Season

Meredith Sonnen • Leila Joffe • Jay Berkowitz • Andrea Sotzing • Ed Corsi • Heather Helinsky • Dan O'Neil • Nicole Miller Marks • Cameron Kelsall • Karen Getz • Brian Anthony Wilson • Polly Edelstein

Barrymore Nominators – 2017/18 Season

Alex Keiper • Amanda Schoonover • Angela Coleman • Annette Kaplafka • Asaki Kuruma • Ben Smallen • Bill Felty • Brandi Burgess • Brett Mapp • Brian Seaman • Carlos Roa • Carly Bodnar • Cat Ramirez • Christopher Haig • Colleen Hughes • Darnelle Radford • Deborah Baer Mozes • Debra Miller • Desi P Shelton • Erlina Ortiz • Genvieve Shields • Gilberto Vega • Hillary Parker • Iraisa Ann Reilly • Joel Guerrero • Johanna Dunphy • Jonathan Steadman • Jose Aviles • Kae Greenberg • Kathryn McCumber • Kathryn Osenlund • Kelly Wilson • Kristen Scatton • Kyleen Shaw • LaKeisha Stanton • Lance Channing • Laura Frost • Lesley Berkowitz-Zak • Liam Mulshine • Luke Bradt • Matthew Mastronardi • Meghan Winch • Melanie Breaux • Michael Osinski • Mina Kawahara • Mitchell Bloom • Naila Francis • Natalia de la Torre • Nathan Foley • Nick Anselmo • Peter Schmitz • Peter Camp • Rachel Beecer • Rebecca Bradbeer • Rob Tucker • Robert Perdick • Sara Madden • Sara Garonzik • Sarah Scafidi • Shamus McCarty • Shawna Evans • Shelli Pentimall Bookler • Steve Gravelle • Tai Verley • Terrell Green