Become a Barrymore Nominator or Judge | Theatre Philadelphia
Home Get Involved Become a Barrymore Nominator or Judge

Become a Barrymore Nominator or Judge

About the Selection Process

Each spring, the Barrymore Oversight Committee identifies a pool of 12 Judges and approximately 60 Nominators to adjudicate the upcoming season of Barrymore-eligible productions. The annual process begins March 1st with publication of the Nominator/Judge Application, which is due March 31st. Applicants will be notified about the status of their application by the end of May. There is a mandatory season orientation on the last Monday of June.

As a Barrymore Judge you will be required to see over 60 productions in a season which runs from July 1st to June 30th. As a nominator you will see as many productions as your schedule allows with most nomiantors seeing approximately 12 to 15 prodcutions in the season.

Barrymore Nominators and Judges may serve a maximum of three consecutive seasons, and must reapply and be approved via the selection process conducted annually by the Barrymore Oversight Committee. In order to maximize inclusiveness and ensure fresh perspectives, the Barrymore Oversight Committee seeks to rotate 30% of the existing Nominator/Judge pool each season, through either natural attrition or lottery selection. The Barrymore Oversight Committee is committed to creating an annual Nominator/Judge pool of dedicated and knowledgeable theatre professionals that are reflective and inclusive of our community’s diversity, including artistic discipline, gender, age, and ethnic background. To aid the Barrymore Oversight Committee with this ongoing effort, qualified applicants from diverse backgrounds are strongly encouraged to apply.

How to apply

The 2017/18 season application IS NOW CLOSED! We will open applications for the 2018/19 Season in March 2018. 


Please review the Barrymore Awards Rulebook or contact Peter Danzig, Program Assistant. 

Barrymore Judges – 2016/17 Season

Jared Michael Delaney • Charlie DelMarcelle • K.O. DelMarcelle • Polly Edelstein • Karen Getz • Daniel X. Guy • Steve Hatzai • Nicholas A. Jonczak • Rebecca Joy • Leonard Luvera • Hillary Parker • Brian Anthony Wilson

Barrymore Nominators – 2016/17 Season

Chelsea Adams • Karina Balfour • Georgina Bard • Meredith Beck • Lesley Berkowitz • Damon Bonetti • Luke Bradht • Rachel Brodeur • Mark Costello • Amelia Couderc • Eleni Delopoulos • Jessica Doheny • John Doyle • Johanna Dunphy • Darin Dunston • Bill Felty • Jeremy Gable • Jay Gilman • Nate Golden • Terrell Green • Christopher Haig • Colleen Hughes • Jennifer Huth • Leila Kolter Joffe • Gil Johnson • Annette Kaplafka • Rob Kaplowitz • Alex Keiper • Cameron Kelsall • Jenna Kuerzi • Asaki Kuruma • Dawn Loveland • Jordan Mann • Dana Marcus • Matthew Mastronardi • Connor McAndrews • Josh Millhouse • Michael Philip O'Brien • Erlina Ortiz • Michael Osinski • Daniel Perelstein • Rachel Peters • Veronica Redd • Nathan Renner-Johnson • Carl Roa • Mila Romero • Patrick Ross • Anne Marie Scalies • Kristen Scatton • Peter Schmitz • Amanda Schoonover • Amanda Shaffern • Jennifer Shorstein • Catharine Slusar • Benjamin Smallen • Meredith Sonnen • Erin Washburn • Meghan Winch • Ted Wioncek III