About Theatre Philadelphia | Theatre Philadelphia
Home About Theatre Philadelphia

About Theatre Philadelphia

What is Theatre Philadelphia?

Founded in 2012, Theatre Philadelphia is dedicated to bringing together and celebrating Philadelphia's diverse and growing theatre community. We are committed to leading efforts that grow audiences and promote the public's participation in this community's work. Over the past several decades, Philadelphia has transformed into a major regional theatre community, with a remarkable blossoming of new companies and new buildings, a growing pool of exceptional artists, and fiercely committed and curious audiences and supporters. Theatre Philadelphia envisions a region that celebrates this growing and ever-changing theatre community – nurturing local theatre artists, fostering the creation of extraordinary work, forging stronger connections between our art and audiences – recognizing that a diverse, robust, and thriving theatre community can play a pivotal role in making Philadelphia a world-class city. Theatre Philadelphia's programs include this website, the annual Barrymore Awards, and strategies for audience awareness and growth.

If you are a representative of a professional theatre company and would like more information about participating in the Barrymore Awards, please see our Submit a Production to the Barrymore Awards page.

If you are a theatre artist or just love theatre in Philadelphia, there are many other ways for you to get involved with Theatre Philadelphia!


Leigh Goldenberg, Executive Director
Katherine Clark, Marketing Manager

Board of Directors

*Erin Reilly, Co-President
*Steve Pacek, Co-President
Akeem Davis Vice President
*Grace E. Grillet, Treasurer
Deborah Block, Secretary
*Kevin Glaccum, Immediate Past President
Eileen Cella
Ryanne Domingues
*Leonard C. Haas
James Ijames
Matthew F. Lewandowski II
Jason Lindner
*Terry Nolen
Daniel Perelstein
*Thom Weaver

Alumni Board Members

*Susan D. Atkinson
Iain Campbell
Jameson Gilpatrick
*Amy L. Murphy
*Anne Shuff
Anneliese Van Arsdale

*Founding Board Member